Missed Every Amazing Bit

Since I’ve been overworking myself with preparing lectures, I’ve not been sleeping for beans, often literally dozing off in the books for a short stretch before finishing reading for and writing lectures. In part, this has admittedly stemmed from my wanting to get it all right, even and especially the little things. Yet the result has been an exhausting first week of teaching this summer.

I figured I’d write a recap of Wednesday’s sulfur bomb afterwards, but had work to do. Plus, after sitting through that and watching one person after another understandably flee the HDLR after inhaling the fumes of that mess, thought, why bother? We all knew what happened–one run, Rasner shelled after Giambi’s inability to make a 15-foot underhanded throw to Rasner covering first, Ohlendorf terrible, the Yankees offense running for the bus. (Hey, I just wrote the recap!) Instead, I worked yesterday morning, took the kids to the pool for a few relaxing hours in the hot sun and had lunch there, made dinner and coached GLG’s softball game (a 15-5 loss, unfortunately, but a few fielding errors made all the difference in an otherwise tight game). Sometime while at the pool, I threw my back out, making it difficult to even bend over. I watched the first half of the Celtics-Lakers game, which was a disaster, and certainly pulled for a comeback as long as I was awake, which was until 68-50 in the third quarter. Chatting with Frank the Sage on the horn, there were signs of a comeback in the second quarter. I told him, if the Celts could get it back to 10 (after being down by 24) by the half, this is doable. That was saying a lot, considering just how bad the Celtics looked–one-and-done on the offensive end, mostly missed jump shots, listless defense (much without KG who sat with 2 fouls) allowing the Lakers to run amok, generally unaggressive play and not laying a body on anyone, poor to no rebounding. Yet despite this, and the Yanks trailing 1-0 by the third, I was not uninterested in the games, just flat-out exhausted.

I crashed at 10 p.m., bidding the Celts and Yanks adieu and best of luck coming back in my absence, and woke up this morning at 9 a.m. Lo and behold, what do I see as I check the scores on the computer, but that birthday boy Matsui cranked a sixth-inning gland slam to deep right-center to give Pettite (as it turns out all) the support he needs as the Yanks reverse things and shut down the A’s 4-1. Lefty was thankfully but uncharacteristically dominant last night, allowing only five hits, a walk, and a run in the second while fanning six on 113 pitches/70 strikes. His slider was tremendous, diving down and away from lefties while enticing them all the same. Great to see him locating his fastball as well. Clutch start for the veteran, and the Yanks take the series in Oakland, staying a game above .500. Mariano earned his 18th save and the 461st of his illustrious career, working around a walk with 2 K’s in the ninth. A question: when will the offense consistently come around? Granted, Blanton is no slouch despite his record (3-9), but this team has yet to hit its collective stride offensively–even with a couple big games last week. The 34-33 record rests squarely on the offense this year, and I never thought I’d say that at the beginning. Cano–.220; Melky–down to .261; Jeter–.272, injured hand or no; 12th in the AL batting with RISP. We all know the drill by now. Good win, but pick it up, guys.

More amazingly, I fell asleep just before the Celtics staged the greatest comeback in NBA Finals history, storming back from a 70-50 deficit with a 21-3 run to close the third at 73-71, and pulling away from the Lakers, 97-91–after being down by 24 in the first half. Absolutely amazing. I wish I could have had the stamina to stay with it but, after about 10 hours of sleep in the previous 4 nights, and unlike the Celtics, I was spent. Great comeback. Ray Allen and Paul Pierce were tremendous in the second half. The Celtics stepped up the defensive intensity from a somnambulist first half, kept Farmar and Vujacic cold off the bench, and hit the glass with much-needed hunger. A question: why is Paul Pierce not guarding Kobe more often? While Kobe’s scoring wasn’t a problem in the first half, Pierce still shuts him down, keeping Kobe from controlling the tempo as well as from scoring. Maybe they wanted to keep him from foul trouble, although Ray Allen is increasingly indispensable. But Pierce should be on Kobe. That was crucial to the comeback. Another question: Can Rondo actually shoot open shots from 15 feet without breaking out in a rash or cold sweat? The Lakers completely ignored him, and Rondo allowed it to happen. A tip to the kid–over the summer, shoot 500 jump shots a day. You’ll notice a difference in the quality of your shot. Tremendous comeback, and now the Celtics have an extra day off before Sunday night’s game to rest and, hopefully, finish off the Lakers.

You got it, Mike S. BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA! BEAT LA!

HDLR Saturday night for anyone interested. My thanks to Jeff, a reader at The Sommer Frieze, for popping over during Wednesday night’s HDLR, but my apologies that your comment sat waiting to be posted. I only saw your comment awaiting moderation this morning, and posted it right away. Come back anytime.

Published in: on June 13, 2008 at 10:31 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heartlandpinstripes.wordpress.com/2008/06/13/missed-every-amazing-bit/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ouch with the back. I pitched some wiffle ball to a nephew the other day. Since then, my left knee sounds like a Rice Crispies breakfast—snap, crackle and pop.

    Get well, get refreshed and catch you later.

  2. Thanks for the well wishes, Mike. I’m already better for the most part–certainly with the dearth of sleep, even if the back barks when I get out of the car. Honestly, my back hurt more stretching to run today than and after actually running. I chalk it all up to age. I’m far from ancient, but in my late 30s, simply can’t do things as easily as before.

    Still, bouncing back like Our Celtics. Ahhhh, that’s got me feeling REALLY good. Take care of your knee, Mike.

  3. Ha ha. 46, and the knee’s been tricky since I injured it around the age of 10.


Leave a Reply

