HDLR 9/18/08: White Sox @ Yankees: Countdown + Tryouts

Hi everyone and welcome to the Heartland Digital Living Room where the hot dogs and chicken wings are always fresh, the beverages are always cold, and the chin-wagging is always brisk.  Tonight, in the fourth-last game at Yankee Stadium 2.0, the White Sox wrap up their four-game set in The Bronx by sending cup-of-coffee Yankee Javier Vasquez (12-13, 4.13 ERA) against Mike Mussina (17-9, 3.63 ERA) and the Yanks. As per Pete Abraham, the Yankees’ lineup is below. Note that JD gets the night off for Gardner to lead off, a good move to me at this point in the year for Gardner to continue to show his stuff, and for JD to get a well-earned day off late in the season.  Note also that recent call-up Juan Miranda is batting eighth and playing first.  Here’s to his continuing the good call-up play that others, including Gardner and Coke, have displayed.  I won’t be around tonight or the next couple games, but will check in afterwards and will do my best to open threads beforehand.  Still, come on in, grab a digital leather recliner, commemorative jersey, and a cold one, and enjoy the game.  Let’s Go, Yankees!

Yankees (81-71)
Gardner CF
Jeter SS
Abreu RF
Rodriguez 3B
Giambi DH
Nady LF
Cano 2B
Miranda 1B
Molina C

Published in: on September 18, 2008 at 4:28 pm  Comments (22)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heartlandpinstripes.wordpress.com/2008/09/18/hdlr-91808-white-sox-yankees-countdown-tryouts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s the “We gave up line up” If anyone is interested in Scilling’s recent idiot comments check out Yahoo sports. Sweep those good for nothing two timing bastards in Bostonia!

  2. What’s Johnny Damon doing having babies in the middle of a pennant race?

  3. Hey guys. V is in.

  4. Nothing like girls interested in baseball. Credit to Gardern man for the prolonged AB to keep Moose some rest. A big RISP for Canoe but 2-1 it’s a game. That was the quietest response I ever heard in Yankee stadium………………

  5. All this talk of the final game at Yankee Stadium is getting to me. I really can’t wait for it… I wonder what the faces on everyone will look like. I wish I could be at that game.

  6. The easy outs..

  7. I know I bet there will be some tears.

  8. I thought KGJ was going to end the game..

  9. I bet I’ll be in tears, and I’m nowhere near the emotional type.

  10. WOW… Abreu launched that one.

  11. Bobby owns…………..I;m sorry V!

  12. I thought Nady was way younger than Bobby he’s only four years younger. I guess in baseball years it’s a lifetime.

  13. Yeah, it’s hard to separate age in baseball compared with age in life. When I say someone in their late 30’s is old in the real world they’re like “What?”

  14. Miranda has drawn two walks. Oh, well 7-1 that should be game. I napped at Jeter’s at bat and was thinking a grand would add history and I woke and saw 7-1 and thought he did lol.

  15. um………..ness? k night.

  16. Is Girardi giving everyone work? Is he just wasting are arms? Can he see the scoreboard? This team is in the middle of a postseason run! 😉

  17. IF MOOSE GETS 19 IN HIS NEXT OUTING IS HE INLINE TO THROW THE LAST GAME AGAINST BOSTON? ALL I ASK DEAR LORD IS THE YANKEES DON’T DROP A GAME AND THE SOX GO AT MIN 3-4 UNTILL THE YANKEES SERIES TO MAKE IT EXCITING AT THE VERY LEAST.

  18. Yes, Leo. Mussina will be going Tuesday in Toronto. If he wins that game, he will go for #20 in the season finale in Boston.

    Besides Miranda (two walks in his first game = the total some Yanks get in a month), Sanchez and Cervelli made their major league debuts.

    Trivia: It remains to be seen which Yankee hits the last HR and/or the last grand slam.

    As of now, Alex has the last grand slam. Abreu the last HR (3 games to go).

    As for the old Stadium, Duke Sims was the last Yankee to HR in it (and last player).

    The last Yankee to hit a grand slam in the old Stadium? Fred Stanley.

  19. WHER’S EVERYONE AT? LET’S GO ROBINSON! IF ONLY TORRE EVR HAD THIS PEN!

  20. THE YOUTH MOVEMENT HAS BEGUN!!

  21. I hope you’re hosting another HDLR for tomorrow night’s game J. Last game in Yankee Stadium… *goosebumps*.

  22. I certainly will, V. Count on it.


Leave a Reply

