Cold Day Got Colder

This morning was one of the coldest days I’ve ever spent in the Midwest.   It was -14 this morning, with a wind chill of about -35.  Oddly enough, tonight was originally forecasted to be colder than last night, but last night’s temperature dropped well below the -5 forecasted.

However, the coldest shiver I felt today arose from worst news I’ve heard thus far today.  Todd Drew, purveyor of Yankees For Justice and a frequent writer at Alex Belth’s Bronx Banter, lost his battle with cancer last night.  He was only 41 years old.

I never met Todd but greatly enjoyed his writing and commitment to social justice on his very good blog from afar.  He was a terrific writer, and I for one in the Yankee blogosphere will miss him very much.  Keep his family and especially his wife in your thoughts and prayers.

Published in: on January 15, 2009 at 2:05 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heartlandpinstripes.wordpress.com/2009/01/15/cold-day-got-colder/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. sad news jas– 41 years old is way too young…

    keep warm!

  2. So sad. I felt as if I knew him just from the blogs.

  3. We all have bad days. Then we have news like this that reminds us to cherish each day….even the bad ones.

    I remember going to a Penn State game many years ago after I graduated. I ran into an old friend from my graduating class, who went to West. VA for post-grad work. I asked him if he heard from my old college roommate, who got his master’s at NC St. He said, “don’t you know?” I replied, “Know what?”

    It was halftime of the game. He told me that my college roomie got his masters at NC St. and was going to go to Wisconsin to work on his doctorate. On the way to the airport, he was hit by and killed by a drunk driver. I was in shock for the rest of the game and for the drive home.

    Each day is a gift. Even the bad ones. My dad died of sarcoidosis (think Reggie White and Bernie Mac). He had to take disability at 54. Died at 62.

    Cherish each day.

    Where I am right now in the East, we expect 5 degrees F, with wind chills of 10 below. In other words, compared to you, Jason, we are having a heat wave!

    Jason, my mom just was out near the LA area from 1/7 to 1/12. She visited my sister out there, did a little sightseeing, saw a cousin and my brother in law’s parents, and most importantly…saw my sister for the first time in a long time as well as her husband and their two children. It was the FIRST time my mom saw the youngest. (I haven’t seen my sis in 27 months. Never saw my niece at all yet!) You can imagine how special that was. Finally seeing a grandchild for the first time. Anyway, I wish she stayed longer. After all, she came home on her b/day! I mentioned to her, how could you spend your b/day in nothing but airports and a cross-country flight! (LOL) Anyway, from 80 degrees in LA to what we have 5 F, 10 below wind chills. No wonder she said “I came home to THIS?”

    Look on the bright side (LOL) you now know what the Ice Bowl between the Packers and Cowboys on 12/31/67 felt like!

    All the best

  4. I had read some of Todd Drew’s work on Bronx Banter. It’s always a shock to hear of such a young guy passing away. Godspeed.

  5. It is indeed too young, Mike and Steve; just a little older than I, making it all the more intimidating. I felt the same way, Jane–a sign of good writers and writing, conveying a sense of knowing one through words. Very sad.

    I am keeping warm Mike and Mike, though it’s easier now that it isn’t -17, as it was yesterday morning. I heard that west of Chicago, some of the ‘burbs were -30. Incredible. I was running errands yesterday and it was about 0 by noon, and it honestly felt a little balmy, no joke.

    Thanks for the very important reminder, Mike S., and I genuinely appreciate it. I initially considered writing this framed by my recent lamentations about my lot in life and how this helped put such things into perspective. It sure did, but I didn’t want to take the focus away from Todd’s unfortunate passing. I very much like your reminder to cherish each day, too true. Your story about your college roommate’s passing reminds me of how I found out about a friend who worked at a factory with me passing away very soon after I left there. Several years ago I was dropping off some union materials to the president and she asked me, “Did you hear about Mike?” I hadn’t, and she told me that our mutual friend had been experiencing headaches, went to the doctor, and learned he had brain cancer. He went from a big and imposing (6’7″, 250) but very kind and warm man to a physical shell of himself, literally having new tumors appear almost every day. He died just several weeks after first being diagnosed, and about a week before I learned about all this. He was like a big brother to me, giving me life advice and about parenting, encouraging me toward various pursuits such as school, and just being a good man. A pat on the shoulder from one of his huge hands was a sure sign of endorsement and reassurance. I had left there to finish grad school, and he got sick and died without my knowing about it or having the chance to tell him once more what a special person he was. It was over 6 years ago and it still bothers me. Thanks again, Mike–very salient words.

    Thanks a bunch for stopping by, Steve. I’ve been thinking of you lately with the Red Sox signings, and will be in touch soon. I’m away for the weekend, but will drop by your fine blog.

  6. Hey–wanted to let you know I added your link (I thought I’d already done it, so thanks for letting me know. Would have emailed you, but didn’t see contact info)

  7. Many thanks, Rebecca. I’m sure I’ll see you around, here and at TPBS.


Leave a Reply

