Back to Baseball, Please

I can’t say that I had no interest in A-Rod’s public confession of sorts, watching the last few minutes after I got home from union meetings.  By that point, the press conference had devolved into a series of insipid questions such as whether or not the injections hurt A-Rod.  Primarily, my interests were in hearing whether or not there was any new information he revealed, and there was some.

But you’ll need to read about all that elsewhere.  Regular readers here know I care little about the soap-opera qualities about sports, politics, and other matters.  I’d rather discuss details, policy, and results.  We can debate until our fingers fall off if A-Rod is still telling the whole truth, if more details will be revealed, and lots more based on some public statements and even more conjecture.  None of that matters much to me.  The revelation of his steroid use was what mattered most.  Most of the rest is just superficial window dressing, navel gazing, and print fodder.

Speaking of navel gazing and superficiality, Bud Zelig yet again cast the blame elsewhere for the steroids problem in the sport he ran.  Bordering on hilarious was his comment to Wallace Matthews of Newsday that

“I’m not sure I would have done anything differently,” Selig said. “A lot of people say we should have done this or that, and I understand that. They ask me, ‘How could you not know?’ and I guess in the retrospect of history, that’s not an unfair question. But we learned and we’ve done something about it. When I look back at where we were in ’98 and where we are today, I’m proud of the progress we’ve made.”

As if the public hasn’t heard enough and forcefully rejected such lame defenses of a track record from our disgraced former President Bush.  Sorry, Bud.  Like others, I read The Mitchell Report, and the league’s turning a blind eye to steroids is an almost favorable assessment of how baseball responded–or didn’t–to the long-term problem of steroids in baseball.  Yes, the Players’ Association deserves blame for this.  I’m a union guy–always have been, always will be–but I am not shy about criticizing unions for various reasons when warranted. The MLBPA deserves blame; so does Zelig–lots of it.

How fascinating that, on the same day that A-Rod’s interview has been rehashed ad nauseam about adequately taking responsibility for his actions, a published interview saw Zelig mount such a staunch and problematic defense of his stewardship of baseball through the steroids era, and adamantly fail to accept blame for the steroids problem rampant throughout his watch. For shame, Zelig, but I am not surprised.

Published in: on February 17, 2009 at 10:16 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heartlandpinstripes.wordpress.com/2009/02/17/back-to-baseball-please/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. i can’t even write down the words i have for Herr Zelig–this is a “family oriented” blog, isn’t it?

    you know what i’m sick of? these guys like mark feinsand and the mighty abe who finish up their articles with some thing like–i know you fans are tired of hearing about this subject but it’s a big story so we reporters are obligated to talk about it…

  2. I hear you about the beat writers, Mike. I’m not saying that reporters should just pen paeans on athletic exploits, but so much of the chatter after the revelation of A-Rod’s steroid use has added precious little to our understanding of the problem. It’s why I’m glad I masquerade as an essayist of sorts here, and not as a beat writer. I just don’t feel the obligation to discuss or remotest interest in posting 43 different links about A-Rod and steroids like some British tabloidal scandal sheet.

  3. Selig is a loser. He could have at least said he could have been harder. A-Roid was ok but now he has to earn back peoples trust. Its hard because he doesn’t seem genuine. I don’t care about that but a lot of people seem to think he needs to be a great person. I just want him to hit 50 130 and .300 AND hit in the playoffs, I don’t care if he’s a pr!””# as long as he does his job. We gotta stop taking about Ballplayers like they are our friends.


Leave a Reply

