A Few Moves

I forgot to post this earlier, but Pete Abe reported some moves–no real surprises. The Yanks optioned Andrew Brackman to single-A Charleston, while George Kontos, J.B. Cox, and Kenekoa Texeira were sent over to the minor-league camp.  None of these pitchers were expected to make the club, Brackman seemed slated for single-A as part of his post-Tommy John regimen, and Kontos, Cox, and Texeira now get the chance to work with SWB pitching guru Scott Aldred.

Published in: on March 9, 2009 at 8:04 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heartlandpinstripes.wordpress.com/2009/03/09/a-few-moves/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. As for 3rd base I like Ransom but only for the bench he can cover 1st and 2nd. I still think we could do with cover for 3rd and SS. Last year when Alex missed games we have the meat (Yikes) now we have no one same for Jeets he has no cover.

    I know we have been through this a million times but I would trade one of the 5 outfielders (6 if you inculed Justin Christian). For the infield we only have 1 cover in Ransom. Damon going no where, I like Gardner plus I dont think we would get much for him anyway and well then theres Melky yeah you dont need me to tell you do you. That leaves Nady, Swisher I really like both and after next year Damon leaves go we could keep both.

  2. It seems that Berroa will be the choice for the other backup IF spot, Nick, and he can handle SS. On trading Melky, I wouldn’t be against it if a deal yielded a decent 3B, should Ransom not pan out or should A-Rod be out for longer than expected. In the meantime, I don’t mind Ransom getting a shot to play, and the team waiting on a deal. I’d like to think Melky will play well should he get extended duty again, but I’m not holding my breath. Depending on how well he plays this year and how healthy he is, I wouldn’t mind Damon staying for two years maximum, and a moderate contract, but nothing too expensive. He’s turning 36 this November. If he can still run, 1-2 years is fine. But any sign of his slowing down means the Yanks should definitely look for a replacement. They just may do that anyway.


Leave a Reply

