Yanks-Twins Lineups

Jorge Posada gets a start catching today–and gets to lead off for extra at-bats–as the Yanks take on the Twins.  As per Pete Abraham, the lineups are below.  The legal team of Pettite, Coke, and Veras goes today.  Abraham also notes that several Yankees–Ian Kennedy, Jesus Montero, Mark Melancon, Christian Garcia, Kevin Russo, and Kyle Anson–were re-assigned to the minor-league camp.  The game is on WCBS, not YES–disgracefully.

YANKEES
Posada C
Damon LF
Teixeira 1B
Matsui DH
Swisher RF
Cabrera CF
Berroa 3B
Pena SS
Bernier 2B

Pitching today: Andy Pettitte, Phil Coke, Jose Veras.

TWINS
Span LF
Hughes 2B
Gomez CF
Kubel DH
Harris 3B
Buscher 1B
Redmond C
Winfree RF
Plouffe SS

Pitching today: Glen Perkins followed by Nick Blackburn, Rob Delaney, Sean Henn, Ben Julianel.

Published in: on March 15, 2009 at 10:55 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heartlandpinstripes.wordpress.com/2009/03/15/yanks-twins-lineups/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. you know i’m just enjoying listening to sterling and suszn while i’m doing some work…

  2. I always thought from pete abe that Melancon had a chance to make the team I guess not.

    As for 3rd (again) looking at the last few teams I guess its a fight between Berroa and Ransom.

  3. It was a great day to listen to a game, Mike. It was sunny and warm here in the Midwest, and good to hear Sterling, and Waldman I suppose. I missed Sterling in the off-season. Also, honestly, listening to games gives me a certain romantic sentiment, reminding me of games I’ve listened to over the years–often late at night, seemingly depositing me right in The Big Apple. I just wish YES would broadcast more games during Spring. There’s really not a good reason for them not to.

    Hey Nick. How are things? I feel for Melancon, who had just one bad outing–yesterday. Maybe they just had him slated for SWB all along. I’d hope not, since he was good and aggressive this Spring. But with Edwar back and hopefully healthy, it seems that there’s little place right now for Melancon, especially if they select someone for long relief and spot starting.

    I have to hand it to Berroa. He’s had a good spring and has hit a ton. I didn’t expect much from him when the Yanks signed him, but so far so good. With A-Rod out a month or so, I expect both Berroa and Ransom to be up. After that, it’s a tough call.


Leave a Reply

