Yanks Get Twins, Start Tomorrow

The Twins just beat the Tigers 6-5 in 12 innings, falling short by two innings of my wish for them to play fourteen, regardless of the victor.  I must say I had no real preference.  Detroit’s starting pitching worried me more, the Twins bats worried me more.  Yet the long game means the Yanks will get an exhilarated but tired Twins team tomorrow night, facing The Big Guy.  They used most of their bullpen, including Nathan for five outs.  Their best player in Mauer just caught twelve innings.  The Twins won’t be easy, but I like the Yanks’ chances.  Despite the temptation to call a sweep, I say the Yanks in four.  Regular reader Mike will be in The Bronx for Games 1 and 2.  Bring back two W’s, buddy. He might well get to lustily boo PaVoldemort.  I hope he and the others go hoarse letting that chooch have it, and rattle him into a miserable outing.

Girardi apparently will give A.J. the ball for Game 2, which I like because he is so good at home.  The problem is that he has designated Molina Burnett’s caddy, taking Jorge’s bat out of the lineup, which I do not like at all.  In a spirited chinwag last night, Frank the Sage stayed positive about that possibility, saying that Molina might well come through with a big hit. I sincerely hope so.  Posada was not pleased about it, and I do not blame him.  Something to consider is that, should this series somehow come down to a Game 5, will Posada really sit for Burnett to throw to Molina, with the chance to advance on the line?  I would really hope not.

Nonetheless, I like the Yanks’ chances a lot, against Minnesota and overall.  The team has improved starting pitching, a tough back end with Mariano and Hughes, better defense especially with the addition of Teixeira, a deep, tough lineup, and is better rounded with speed and a good bench.  It’s built to go deep, and should in my humble opinion.

For the ALDS, I look for a few Yanks to break out and make key contributions–A-Rod, Swish, JD, and Cano.  My gut tells me A-Rod will stay hot this post-season, as he finished the regular season.  That would ripple throughout the lineup, bringing others better pitches to hit.  A hot hitting A-Rod would be an opponent’s worst nightmare, for he can carry that team.  Swish has been excellent the whole year, and will be more than a little excited to play post-season baseball for the Yanks.  What a steal he was.  I envision JD warming back up and launching a couple.  I also envision Cano continuing to deliver some runners, as he managed to do in the last few weeks of the regular season.  Some others such as Jeter, I consider a given.  I also think that this team is deep enough that, should a couple of the players above struggle, others such as Teixeira, Posada, and Melky are there to contribute, and will.

I have a ton of faith in C.C. and the rest of the staff, and love that the bullpen has strength and flexibility, with guys who can go short and long stints.  I also like that the longer series affords the Yanks the chance to rest Hughes and Mariano after each of the first two games.

Get ready and enjoy it, Yankees fans.  This will be fun.

Published in: on October 6, 2009 at 9:47 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heartlandpinstripes.wordpress.com/2009/10/06/yanks-get-twins-start-tomorrow/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I was at the “Who’s Your Daddy” Pedro game. (Game 2, 2004, the Yanks won but we know what happened later). Unreal the chants we hurled at Pedro, but that will be NOTHING compared to the blood we want from Pavano in Game 2…at the Stadium no less! How I pray for a Pavano line of 1 1/3 IP. 8R, all earned, 10 hits, 3 walks, 0K. I am sure Tim the Wizard is with me on this one. We want Pavano’s blood! Like a pack of lions we smell his blood and want to pounce!

    Sorry for the lack of civility but for the playoffs and that piece of algae Pavano, I’m sure I am forgiven!

  2. I consider that a fine opening salvo, Mr. Sommer.

  3. I AM BACK!

    MIKE S YOU DID NOT GO FAR ENOUGH WITH REGARDS TO PAVANO! BLOOD IS NOT ENOUGH! I WANT TO CUT OFF HIS HEAD, STICK IT ON A PIKE, AND PLACE IT ATOP THE FRIEZE!

    IT IS TIME TO MUG THE TWINKIES, ROCK THE RED SOX OR THE DEVILS, AND OBLTIERATE ANY PIECE OF GARBAGE FROM THE NL! NOTHING WILL STOP THIS TEAM FROM BRINGING HOME NUMBER 27! SHOW NO MERCY! TAKE NO PRISONERS!

    ONWARD TO BATTLE!

    Signed,

    Tim the Wizard of Manhattan

  4. How ironic, Wiz, that the recent writing for work that I have done entails militaristic language in competition (in this case economic and cultural). I agree, and welcome it rhetorically, cast toward that miscreant PaVoldemort. I am very ready for playoff baseball.

    Onward and Upward.

  5. Twins holding back The American Idle for Game 3 at home so he won’t have the fans to contend with?


Leave a Reply

